YouTube Watch Later Telegram Bot

YWLTB — или YouTube Watch Later Telegram Bot — это бот для телеги, который делает всего одну вещь: добавляет YouTube-видосы, которые вы ему скидываете в личку вам в "Watch Later" плейлист.

Друзья часто скидывают в телегу ссылки на YouTube. Кое-какие видео порой даже достойны внимания. Обычно они идут в "Saved Messages", где успешно теряются. А ведь на YouTube уже есть специальное место для этого: плейлист "Watch Later". Я его даже периодически посматриваю, когда готовлю, например. Открывать на телефоне видео просто чтобы клацнуть там "Watch Later"? Долго! Вот я и подумал, что неплохо бы сделать бота, которому я буду форвардить мессаги, не покидая Telegram, а тот будет сохранять мне их в "Watch Later".

Так появился @YouTubeWatchLaterBot.

Пользуйтесь, не бойтесь, что я добавлю вам лишнего. Код открыт (хотя конкретно этого я стыжусь), надо моей Privacy Policy работали лучшие выпускники Гарварда, а приложение прошло Google API OAuth Dev Verification. Если паранойя велика, но хочется — заведите себе Heroku и задеплойте туда по инструкции в README, бесплатного аккаунта хватит.

Кстати, про верификацию, вдруг вам любопытно. Google вообще разделяет API доступа к данным пользователей на три категории: general, sensitive, restricted. Первые можно использовать просто так, вторые — пройдя несложную верификацию, третьи требуют прохождения security assessment за $15К — $75К (или больше, в зависимости от). Для управления плейлистами пользователя на YouTube достаточно sensitive доступа, а тобы пройти ревью нужно оформить лендинг с описанием проекта, privacy policy и записать демовидео работы приложения, где обьяснено как используется API. Ответ с результатами ревью мне прислали в течение дня. Ревью проходить не обязательно, если приложением будет пользоваться до ста (или около того) человек.

А вообще, держите инбокс чистым и читайте книги!

comments powered by Disqus

YouTube Watch Later Telegram Bot

YWLTB — or YouTube Watch Later Telegram Bot — is a Telegram bot that does one simple thing: adds incoming YouTube videos into your "Watch Later" playlist.

Friends often send me YouTube videos in Telegram DMs or chats. Some of those videos are even worth watching. They usually go to "Saved Messages" in Telegram, where are effectively lost after some time. At the same time, YouTube has a special place for them: a "Watch Later" playlist. I even watch it periodically, e.g. while cooking. Opening a video on the phone just to press that "Watch Later" button takes a stupidly lot of time. So I thought about a Telegram bot who will save the incoming videos to my "Watch Later" playlist.

That’s how @YouTubeWatchLaterBot was born.

Enjoy! And don’t be afraid that I would add some spam into your playlists. The code is open-sourced (although I am ashamed to share it), the best Harvard alumni crafted my Privacy Policy, and the app successfully passed Google API OAuth Dev Verification. However, if you are really paranoid but still want to use it — run your own instance, the guide is in README, and free Heroku account will be enough.

A few words about the verification process, for those who are interested in it. Google has three API access levels for user data: general, sensitive, restricted. A developer can use the first one without any hassle. The second requires verification. Third requires a security assessment, that costs $15К — $75К (or even more). Sensitive API access level is enough to manage user’s "Watch Later" playlist. To pass the review you need a publicly accessible web page describing your project, a privacy policy, and a demo video, describing how you use the API to work with user data. The result of the review was e-mailed to me in a day. In general, it’s not necessary to pass the review if you don’t plan to surpass one hundred (or so) users limit.

Keep your inbox empty and read books!

comments powered by Disqus